Subsequently, Parliament enacted a measure, "An Act to readjust the Representation in the House of Commons, 1952", effective in the General Election of 1953, which provided that representation in the House of Commons shall be on the following basis:—

"Sect. 2.—Eighty-five members of the House of Commons shall be elected for the Province of Ontario, seventy-five for the Province of Quebec, twelve for the Province of Nova Scotia, ten for the Province of New Brunswick, fourteen for the Province of Manitoba, twenty-two for the Province of British Columbia, four for the Province of Prince Edward Island, seventeen for the Province of Saskatchewan, seventeen for the Province of Alberta, seven for the Province of Newfoundland, one for the Yukon Territory and one for Mackenzie district of the Northwest Territories, thus making a total of two hundred and sixty-five members." (RSC 1952, c. 334.)

The number of representatives of each province elected at each of the 26 General Elections since Confederation is given in Table 9.

## 9.—Representation in the House of Commons, as at Federal General Elections 1867-1963

Province or Territory	1867	1872	1874 1878	1882	1887 1891	1896 1900	1904	1908 1911	1917 1921	1925 1926 1930	1935 1940 1945	1949	1953 1957 1958 1962 1963
Ontario. Quebec. Nova Scotia. New Brunswick. Manitoba. British Columbia. Prince Edward Island. Saskatchewan. Alberta. Yukon. Mackenzie River, N.W.T. Newfoundland.	15	88 65 21 16 4 6 	88 65 21 16 4 6 6	92 65 21 16 5 6 6 	92 65 21 16 5 6 6 	92 65 20 14 7 6 5 4	86 65 18 13 10 7 4 10 1	86 65 18 13 10 7 4 10 7	82 65 16 11 15 13 4 16 12	82 65 14 11 17 14 4 21 16	82 65 12 10 17 16 4 21 17	83 73 13 10 16 18 4 20 17 1{	85 75 12 10 14 22 4 17 17 1 1
Totals	181	200	206	211	215	213	214	221	235	245	245	262	265

Under their parliamentary system of representation, based on a "constitution similar in principle to that of the United Kingdom", the people of Canada elect representatives having various political party affiliations. In a general election, the Canadian electorate not only determines what political party leader shall be called on to form the Government of the day, but it also decides which of the parties is to become the Official Opposition. Her Majesty's Loyal Opposition occupies an essential place in constitutions based on the British parliamentary system, in that its function is to oppose or criticize in debate the Government in power—an essential to good government at all times. The Official Opposition is founded, like such institutions as the Cabinet and the Prime Ministership, on unwritten custom that has become firmly established. Although the position of Leader of the Opposition is not recognized in the British North America Act, it received statutory acknowledgment in the Canadian Parliament in 1905 when the Senate and House of Commons Act (SC 1905, c. 43, Sect. 2) provided an additional sessional allowance to "the member occupying the recognized position of Leader of the Opposition in the House of Commons".

The final list of Members of the House of Commons as elected at the Twenty-Sixth General Election of Apr. 8, 1963, was not available at the time of the printing of this Chapter and will be placed in an Appendix to this volume.

Indemnities and Allowances.—Members of the Senate receive a sessional allowance at the rate of \$8,000 per annum. In addition they receive at the end of each calendar year an annual expense allowance of \$2,000 which is subject to income tax. The member of the Senate occupying the recognized position of Leader of the Government in the Senate is paid, in addition to his sessional allowance, an annual allowance of \$10,000, and to the member of the Senate occupying the recognized position of Leader of the Opposition in the Senate there is paid, in addition to his sessional allowance, an annual allowance